Accredited Higher Education Institutes

Pursuant to the Constitution, Education at university level shall be provided exclusively by institutions which are fully self-governed public law legal persons. These institutions shall operate under the supervision of the State and are entitled to financial assistance from it. They shall operate on the basis of statutorily enacted by-laws.

In Greece, University Level Education is provided by 22 Universities and 14 Technological Educational Institutes (TEIs), which are considered accredited by Greek state:


Universities and Technical Universities


All the Higher Tertiary state-accredited universities in Greece are public. The duration of the undergraduate degree programs for most disciplines is 4 years (240E.C.T.S). Programs in engineering, dentistry, pharmacology, agronomics, forestry, along with some programs in fine arts, have a duration of 5 years (300 E.C.T.S). Medicine is the only discipline with a duration of studies of 6 years.

  1. Agricultural University of Athens
  2. Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (campuses: Thessaloniki, Veria, Serres)
  3. Athens School of Fine Arts
  4. Athens University of Economics and Business
  5. Democritus University of Thrace (campuses: Komotini, Xanthi, Alexandroupoli, Orestiada)
  6. Harokopio University
  7. Hellenic Open University
  8. International Hellenic University (campus: Thessaloniki) Postagraduate studies solely in English
  9. Ionian University
  10. National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
  11. National Technical University of Athens
  12. Panteion University of Social and Political Sciences
  13. Technical University of Crete
  14. University of the Aegean (campuses: Mytilene, Chios, Karlovasi, Rhodes, Ermoupoli, Myrina)
  15. University of Crete (campuses: Heraklio, Rethymno)
  16. University of Ioannina
  17. University of Macedonia (campuses: Thessaloniki, Edessa, Naoussa)
  18. University of Patras
  19. University of Peloponnese (campuses: Tripoli, Korinthos, Kalamata, Nafplio, Sparti)
  20. University of Piraeus
  21. University of Thessaly (campuses: Larissa, Volos, Karditsa, Trikala)
  22. University of Western Macedonia (campuses: Florina, Kozani)

Note : University of Central Greece was abolished (Gazette 134/5-6-2013)
Note : University of West Greece was abolished (Gazette 130/5-6-2013)

Technological Educational Institutes

All the Higher Tertiary state-accredited Technological Educational Institutes in Greece are public. Technological Educational Institutes were initially established in 1983. They currently offer a 4-years (240E.C.T.S) undergraduate degree programs and since 2008 they are also allowed to run on their own postgraduate that lead to a Master's Degree and PhD programs.

  1. Alexander Technological Educational Institute of Thessaloniki (campuses: Sindos, Katerini, Kilkis, Nea Moudania)
  2. Higher School of Pedagogical and Technological Education
  3. Technological Educational Institute of Athens
  4. Technological Educational Institute of Central Greece (Created by the union of T.E.I. of Chalkida and T.E.I. of Lamia)
  5. Technological Educational Institute of Crete (campuses: Heraklio, Chania, Rethymno, Agios Nikolaos, Ierapetra, Sitia)
  6. Technological Educational Institute of Epirus (campuses: Arta, Ioannina, Preveza, Igoumenitsa)
  7. Technological Educational Institute of the Ionian Islands (campuses: Lefkada, Argostoli, Lixouri, Zakynthos)
  8. Technological Educational Institute of Peloponnese (former T.E.I. of Kalamata -- campuses: Kalamata, Sparti)
  9. Technological Educational Institute of Eastern Macedonia and Thrace (former T.E.I. of  Kavala -- campuses: Kavala, Drama, Didymoteicho)
  10. Technological Educational Institute of Thessaly (former T.E.I. of Larissa -- campuses: Larissa, Karditsa, Trikala)
  11. Technological Educational Institute of Western Greece (Created by the union of T.E.I. of  Patras and T.E.I. of  Messolonghi)
  12. Technological Educational Institute of Piraeus
  13. Technological Educational Institute of Central Macedonia (former T.E.I. of Serres)
  14. Technological Educational Institute of Western Macedonia (campuses: Kozani, Florina, Kastoria, Grevena and Ptolemaida)



Academies and schools

The following academies offer higher education with 4 years of studies and their graduates are equivalent to the graduates of universities. However, they operate under different terms from the universities and among other differences they have is that they are not allowed to run graduate programs on their own.

  • Hellenic Military Academy
  • Hellenic Naval Academy
  • Hellenic Air Force Academy
  • Military School of Corps Officers
  • Military Nursing School
  • Hellenic Police Academy
  • Hellenic Fire Academy
  • Ecclesiastical Academy of Athens
  • Ecclesiastical Academy of Thessaloniki
  • Ecclesiastical Academy of Vellas
  • Ecclesiastical Academy of Crete

The following schools offer higher education with 4 years of studies and their graduates are equivalent to the graduates of Technological Educational Institutes.

  • Academy of Mercantile Marine


JSwitch Slide Menu